New Age Steppers - New Age Steppers - LP *NEW*

(No reviews yet) Write a Review

A loose studio collective centred around the musical partnership of producer Adrian Sherwood and Ari Up from Slits, New Age Steppers existed on and off from 1980 to 2012.

Notable for bringing together musicians from the post-punk and reggae scenes together, their records feature contributions from members of Aswad, Creation Rebel, Flying Lizards, PiL, The Pop Group, Raincoats and Roots Radics.

This reissue campaign features their classic studio albums — New Age Steppers, Action Battlefield and Foundation Steppers — on vinyl for the first time since the early 80s and the 2012 album Love Forever on vinyl for the first time.

New sleevenotes by Oli Warwick featuring interviews with Adrian Sherwood and other key players.

New Age Steppers launched the influential On-U Sound label with their debut album and single, and it's fitting to reissue these brilliant records as On-U Sound celebrates its 40th anniversary in 2021.

The landmark first album on the On-U Sound label form a potent post-punk/dub fusion.

Few groups embody the explosive culture clash between punk and reggae better than New Age Steppers and few releases stand as an example of the musical amalgam’s potential quite like their debut album.

The New Age Steppers is most striking as a deeply strange record — and purposefully so. Its impression is that this conglomeration of musicians were gunning for something unknowable; nothing less than the future of music — bringing to mind a version of Can fronted by Lee “Scratch” Perry.

The influential forward-looking visions of New Age Steppers begins here.

A certified classic of the era and an essential addition to any post-punk record collection

1 Fade Away 5:36
2 Radial Drill 4:31
3 State Assembly 6:21
4 Crazy Dreams And High Ideals 5:45
5 Abderhamane's Demise 3:58
6 Animal Space 5:41
7 Love Forever 7:26
8 Private Armies 4:51
9 Izalize 4:39
10 May I 6:12
11 Avante Gardening 4:06
12 Singing Love 5:07